dc: 41 hours (and counting)

I am currently using the convenient, complimentary WiFi at the Dulles Airport outside of Washington, DC, waiting for a convenient, complimentary update on the status of my flight, which has been undergoing an inconvenient, complimentary part repair for the past four hours. Scheduled to leave at 11:03, we just got an update that we will receive another update at noon. So instead of freaking out, I am going to post this entry and then try to figure out how (and if) I’m going to get to Tucson.

First stop was Ben’s Chili Bowl on U Street, a DC landmark with really great music. I went with my friend Abby who I haven’t seen since October. The two of us spent Summer ’09 in DC together, and it was great to reconnect with her in the city we got to know together.

Chili Cheese Fries

Chili Half-Smoke

The next day, I hung out with my Haverford friends Waleed and Kate, and some of their friends from home. They all live in Arlington, VA, and made the trek out to DC proper to chill. Falafel for lunch with the whole crew and Ethiopian for dinner with Waleed. Both meals were eaten streetside, but the showcase of the falafel experience was definitely the cement being poured a few meters away.

Falafel with a Side of Cement

Lalibela Sampler Plate, complete with hard-boiled egg and a bunch of delicious stews

Ethiopian beer! Waleed!

3 responses to “dc: 41 hours (and counting)

  1. Genna, I am so excited about your adventures! Keep up the bloggin.

  2. I am complete with hardboiled egg too!

  3. wahoooooooooooooo

Leave a Reply

