it’s just like fruit, but better

When I was a kid, I would take overripe bananas and turn them into “banana soup”: mashed bananas with cinnamon, milk, and sometimes a small handful of raisins. I graduated to freezing them on popsicle sticks and eating them as banana pops. After seeing a blog entry offering the idea to blend the bananas once frozen, banana ice cream it was. I have also been experimenting with mix-ins like cookie dough, nuts, peanut butter, and chocolate chips. All are delicious, esp. cookie dough.

Today, I found a bag of frozen pineapple chunks in my freezer. With my days in San Diego dwindling, I am determine to eat all of my food so I don’t leave my host family with a mess of weird food they will never eat. So, with a bottle of Malibu Coconut Rum in one hand, a blender in the other, and banana “ice cream” on the brain, I made a Pineapple-Coconut Rum Sorbet for dessert and served it with one of my mother’s Coconut Biscotti.

Pineapple-Coconut Rum Sorbet

3 c. frozen pineapple chunks
1/8 c. coconut rum

Blend these ingredients together until it reaches your desired consistency. Feel free to deviate, but I used the following ratio:

1 cup: approx. 1 tablespoon:: pineapple chunks: rum

It will probably be necessary to start and stop the blender a few times to stir. I even had to push the chunks down so the blender blade would act on it.

Now that I’ve moved from banana ice cream to pineapple sorbet, I am getting excited about all of the other possibilities. Strawberries and cream sherbet? (FYI: I thought sherbet was “sherbert” until I typed this blog entry.) Blueberry sorbet with lavender honey and lemon zest? Avocado, lime, cucumber? Spicy, salty mango? Maybe I’ll even make some mustard ice cubes and blend them into ice cream to top gazpacho like this NPR recipe suggests. Gotta catch ’em all!

And speaking of frozen delights, I found this idea for the Beer Popsicle today on The Daily What and some variant is in my near future. I have a couple beers that need to be consumed before I leave, and completing this chore in popsicle form sounds, well, delightful.

Leave a Reply

