le monde de la lavande

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Driving up the I-15, through a grove, and down several miles of dirt roads lands you squarely amongst dozens of acres of lavender plans in Valley Center, CA. Keys Creek Lavender Farm, to be exact, “A Unique Boutique Farm.” My cousin and I attended a tea party there, with assorted lavender teas, freshly baked scones and, of course, the promise of lavender essence in the breeze.

Those scones were some of the best I have ever had. My first scone experience was as a 9-year-old in Starbucks, ordering a blueberry scone because I felt awesome about myself. They’re British, I thought, I’m suave. This was back when Starbucks served your pastries on a plate with real silverware if you indicated that you were going to stick around to eat it. Not so, anymore! Just those awful wax bags.

But yea, this Starbucks blueberry scone was pretty horrible. Despite the amount of lard I’m sure it included, it was so dry. I remember really struggling to get it down because if the Brits can do it and manage to still be supercool, I needed to do the same. Ever since, though, scones were my last choice of food. Until now.

The lavender-orange zest scones had optimal scone texture: simultaneously flaky and moist. Topped with clotted cream (I hate it. I love it.), strawberry jam, and lavender honey, these pastries were just divine. When paired with the fruit-lavender tea from those fairytale porcelain teapots, I couldn’t have been happier.

Also, I didn’t leave empty handed. I purchased some culinary lavender and lavender honey to enhance my edibles, and some lavender lip balm. It is full of lavender essential oil distilled in this little shack on the farm with a giant version of that tiny distiller pictured above.

Leave a Reply

