a dinner of snacks

Really upscale snacks.

Penny and Jay have a foodie neighbor whom I love. His name is Steve, and in two weeks, we are going to tea smoke a duck or three. He was brainstorming flavors today, and his thought train made stops at rice vinegar, soy sauce, cinnamon (for a little sumthin’ interestin,’ Steve said), and darjeeling. Toot toot, I’m ready for it. (You’ll love my lame jokes! You’ll love them!) We’re also going to attempt chateaubriand (?!?so nervous!?!), but again, I’m ready for it. Or at least up for it. I trust him with food; my first weekend here, he cooked an absurd brisket and a couple delectable side salads, all served with great sangria. He’s good. Except for the fact that he shuns food blogs and made fun of me for taking pictures and having an afro. Whatevs.

So, tonight’s dinner, courtesy of Steve:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That wine, a $110 bottle of 2004 Hidden Ridge Cabernet Sauvignon from Sonoma County, California with a sharp nose and smooth finish. It screamed for meat and cheese and chocolate and crackers so Steve fixed the former and I the latter. Steve has a wine cellar refrigerator thing that keeps his wines at a consistent 55°, the most perfect temperature I’d ever had red. This red kind of tasted like fruity blood, in the most delicious, least vampire way possible.

That salami, smoked in Italy and marbled to perfection. I haven’t had cold Italian salami like that in months, and it is always appreciated.

That cheese, three kinds of cheddar (sharp, rosemary, chipotle) made at Rogue Creamery in Oregon. I could not stop eating it even after cleansing my palate with dessert.

That chocolate, Lindt Chili Dark Chocolate sandwiched between two sweet multigrain crackers from Trader Joe’s. It was like a broken-down, upscale s’more without ooey, gooey charred mush of melted marshmallow. That would have been too much for me, tonight. The chili that remained on my tongue after the chocolate was long gone served as its replacement, I suppose.

And tonight, with the above nutriment, I accidentally had dinner.

Leave a Reply

