one tart dinner

Back in February, I came across this recipe for Red Quinoa, Kale, Blood Orange and Pomegranate Salad with Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette. This sounded mighty mighty tasty to me today for some reason, but the only ingredient I had was the red quinoa. I’d boiled some off in juiced-up water (water with cranberry juice and mango nectar) to give it a bit of sweetness/tartness, and I’ve been eating it in my Greek yogurt instead of granola. Quite a match! I also had some regular lemons because biddy was not going on a hunt for Meyer lemons at dinner time. My hunger got the better of me.

After a quick Trader Joe’s trip, I came back with spinach instead of kale and Valencia oranges instead of blood oranges. I was fine with the replacement, but the entire time I was making this dish I was very doubtful about how the final product was going to be. Like I almost abandoned the process – that’s how doubtful I was. I am ever-so-glad that I didn’t though because this was one of the most refreshing, filling meals I have had in my life. My host mom Penny took a picture of me eating it. I was caught off-guard, distracted by the many manifestations of acid I was processing, but trust me, I’m happy.

So, I ate spinach sauteed with caramelized onions, (I’ve decided that I am always going to have caramelized onions in my refrigerator; they are excellent atop bread, in sandwiches, sauteed with an array of greens, and probably great pureed into a dip or spread), a scoop of that juiced-up red quinoa, a half-handful of garbanzo beans, a chopped Valencia orange, a sprinkle of pomegranate seeds and microgreens, all topped with a lemon-apple cider vinegar vinaigrette. Washed it all down with some of Trader Joe’s “Very Green” drink that looks horrible but tastes like pineapple!

A+. Will ride again.

4 responses to “one tart dinner

  1. I finally got a picture of you. Looking good girl.

  2. I am so happy that your manifestation of the salad turned out! It is a pretty delicious combination if I may say so myself!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

